Do you ever asked the Lord that question? I do. Sometimes more than I should. Okay, sometimes I ask it a lot. It usually comes at the end of the prayer for something that is very close to my heart. You know those prayers that almost hurt to pray because the issue matters so much to you. They usually go something like “Lord, please bless me with a Big Wheel. If you do, I will do everything I can to honor and bring glory to you with it. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.” And then comes the question, “Lord what must I do to earn enough points, collect enough chips, win enough Chuckie Cheese tickets to recieve this blessing from you?”

Several years ago, I was in a season of praying for one of those Big Wheel type of things. I had been praying over it, for it, for some time and the Lord’s voice was quiet on the subject. I heard nothing. Crickets. And the question of what must I do was constantly on my lips. I thought about it, I did things, I efforted. If there was something I could do, I was going to do it. And then, finally, the Lord’s Spirit spoke to my spirit…He said, “There is nothing you can do to make me want to bless you any more than I already do.” And then I was quiet. I pondered and considered what He said. It was freeing and frustrating at the same time. Freeing because He was telling me to stop trying to earn it because I couldn’t. My effort was futile. Frustrating (for my flesh) because it meant my human effort would be left with nothing to do. That’s always a tough place for flesh to be. Because it wants something to do. When it doesnt’ have anything to do, it dies. And that’s what the Lord wants to see happen. He wants to see my flesh die so he can have authority. More on that some other time.

What I love most about what the Lord spoke to me that day is that I can be confident that He wants to bless me. Psalm 84:11 says that He does not withhold any good thing from those who walk uprightly before Him. It’s the answer to the question we ask. “What must I do?” Walk uprightly before Him. And in doing so, we can be assured that everything that is good for me will come from His hand.

That’s one of the many questions I take to the Lord. What about you? What do you ask? What has He answered?

