I’ve had a case of the blahs this week. Ever happen to you? I’m sure it happens to everyone. The blahs were complicated by the short-term rollercoaster ride that can pop up for a few days every month…nice, huh? Even though I was experiencing my emotions a little more deeply than normal, it doesn’t change the fact that the week included having to manage some disappointments, struggle through some difficult work situations and having to make some hard financial decisions. It’s been a tough week that has left me feeling flat and anxious at the same time at the end of each day. That’s the blahs for you.

When seasons like this hit, I know I’ve got to fight harder to keep looking up, looking for the face of my Savior…the One who promises to be my help, be the lifter of my head.

I love His promises.

Before I went to bed on Wednesday, I pulled out my copy of Spurgeon’s “My Utmost for His Highest.” It’s one of my favorite devotionals and while I don’t read it every day, there’s always a nugget of encouragement for me when I do pick it up. The title of the reading was “Are You Disturbed?” I had to smile when I saw that…I knew it was the Lord’s rhetorical question to me…because, of course, my spirit was quite disturbed…the blahs will do that to you.

John 14:27 was the verse — “Peace I leave with you. My peace I give to you,” Jesus says. Spurgeon says it is a peace which comes from looking into His face and realizing His undisturbedness.

Jesus is the very picture of undisturbed. He is the source of peace. He is peace. And that peace is mine, it’s ours. With these perfect words, He gives the salve every soul needs to find rest and comfort from whatever circumstances surround us. It’s a shelter, a shield, a protective guard for our hearts and minds when life takes on that rollercoaster quality that leaves us flat. Queasy. With a good case of the blahs.

Spurgeon’s counsel is spot on. Look into His face and see His peace. That’s a challenge when life serves up the blahs. To remember to look into His face. It’s in looking into His face that the blahs are brought into submission. That our strength is renewed. That our hearts are encouraged. Circumstances won’t necessarily change but we are changed from feeling low to remembering that in Christ we have a hope and a future.

I turned the light out Wednesday night determined to focus on Him, on Jesus. As I waited for sleep to come, I closed my eyes and meditated on Him, His goodness, His character, His promises. I had the best night’s sleep in a week that night. His peace is good.

