The work of change usually takes place in seasons. I think that’s the Lord’s grace upon His creatures. If He forced all the changes He has planned into a one-time event, we would likely collapse from the shock and the pain of it. I’ve often thought of these seasons as a series of surgeries that have to be performed, the next needing to wait until we’ve regained our strength from the last. Each one brings us to a new place of healing, a new level of strength, a new confidence. It’s so important we remember that. That we will be better for having gone through what He’s bringing us through.

Transformation, like healing, requires our participation. Jesus does the work but we do our part.

I had to learn that.

My season of transformation has been active off and on for the last five years or so. It has, at times, been incredibly difficult. During these years, I’ve felt

Weak.

Fearful.

Intimidated.

Insecure.

I felt those things because I was convinced that I couldn’t “do” the life Jesus was calling me to. And the truth is, under my own power, I couldn’t.

But baby step by baby step, Jesus showed me this truth:

His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness. ~~ 2 Peter 1:3 (NIV)

His quiet but persistent whisper into my heart and mind was that He had given me everything I needed to do the life He has laid out for me.

His divine power makes me powerful and not weak.

Confident and not fearful.

Strong and not intimidated.

Safe and not insecure.

Transformative work always starts in the mind. Be renewed by the transformation of your mind (Romans 12:2, NIV), says the Lord.

During the most difficult of times, when the hard work, the pain, the hurt, seemed the worse, I had to choose to settle my mind on truth, to believe what the Lord said to me…

He had given me His divine power to get through. I may not have felt like it. But it was the truth. I had to choose to believe the truth over the lies. I had to take the lies captive and replace them with something more powerful. His word.

When we choose to believe the truth, to walk in it, it changes the way we behave. When I believe I have His power, I will live in His power. I will be powerful. So will you.

The Lord may have you in a difficult season of change. The circumstances may be incredibly challenging. Ask the Lord for His truth. For a truth you can focus on when situations want to distract you to the point of not being able to do your part. There’s power in His truth. Then allow it to transform your mind so He can continue the work of transforming you.

I’m praying for you…

